Sharing

This week and next week I will be following the K12 Online Conference.  The entire conference is held online!  I don’t have to leave my family room!  Can I really learn from my spot on the couch with my cat curled up next to me?  Sure!  I know from experience that we all learn more when we are comfortable and relaxed, so why not?   Tonight, for example, the conversation was about sharing.  Why is sharing such a risk?  I think that teachers as well as students often question themselves and wonder if they are right or wrong.  This makes sharing risky…what if what I’m sharing is wrong?  We have to make a decision before we share openly.  We have to decide that life is better when we share even if we are occasionally wrong.  Let’s face it, you are a result of all of the knowledge, friendship, and love that was shared with you by others in your life.  Dean Shareski, a speaker at the K12 Online Conference said that it is our moral imperative to share!  The real secret is that when we share we actually receive much more than we give.  You never know what opportunities will open up or what connections are in store.  You have to share to find out!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *